c h é r i e

♥ classy and fabulous ♥

Body Beautiful At Any Age

with 3 comments

Cherie Wellness Volume 1

Boost your health and improve your physical appearance with the right exercise regime. Whatever your age, it’s never too late. The first step to getting a beautiful body is learning how to love it. Accept what you can’t change and what you can. Fret not! You can change a lot! You need to have a goal, start by working towards it and constantly improve. For example, your basic shape. You can’t change your basic shape but you can improve it by working with weights and wearing the right outfits to enhance your body type. For those who are shortchanged vertically, you can appear taller with a good posture. Confidence is key! Standing tall makes one look kilos lighter and years younger.

For the record, I’m not a believer of slimming/diet pills, liposuction, diet tea or any other forms of concoctions to lose weight. I personally feel that it is only a once off thing. What happens after you have lost weight? I wouldn’t want saggy, sallow skin or experience side effects after taking them. Aim for healthy not skinny.

I’m sure you’ve been told exercise stimulates “feel good” endorphins and that naturally puts you into a happy and positive mood. Exercise boosts blood circulation, delivers oxygen and nutrients where you need them most. If you’ve been working out and not seeing changes to your weight, perhaps it’s time to consider personal training. That’s one good reason to get that gym membership!

Recently, I signed up as a member of Aileron Wellness where I experienced workouts like no other at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, a members-only gym situated in the heart of Sentosa.

For those who have been religiously following my tweets @Cherielee01 (please do!) or foursquare, would know that I’ve been visiting Aileron Wellness for about 2 to 3 times a week since 17th of May.

There, I’m led and guided by certified trainers who are equipped with up-to-date training methodologies and furnished with state-of-the-art equipment. I believe that I am one step nearer in achieving my main goal of a toned silhouette in less 6 weeks. My personal trainer created a fitness regime for me, taking into consideration of my lifestyle, fitness goals, metabolic rates, body type and injuries, to give me maximum results in the fastest time.


I. Eat. A. Lot. and I do mean a lot, A LOT. Before I met them, I eat more than 6 full meals a day, snack on something almost every hour and to top it off, food tasting events which require me to consume large amounts of food in one setting. Oh no, I’m not complaining, I’m just telling you what my normal eating habits are and I think I scared the daylights of them when I first told them about it.

Also, I’ve not been exercising for almost 2 years due to an existing injury on my knee and ankles (MediaCorp drama 泳闯琴关 No Limits, doesn’t count as it is only intensive swimming for about 2 months). On a side note, I consume food in moderation. I’m not saying that I eat 6 plates of Char Kway Teow a day or feast on cupcakes every hour. My favorite type of food is Economy Rice or what most people known it as, Cai Fan. I usually have less rice, 1 fish, 2 meat and 2 veggies (includes tofu, eggs and/or green leafy vegetables) in each serving.

Practically nothing much changes after I’ve met them, except for the fact that it is advisable for me to consume only 1700 calories each day according to my height and weight and the given time frame of less than 6 weeks. It varies individually on a case to case basis. Besides, research has also shown that eating less calories a day is one of the best ways to extend life since many of us dig our graves with a knife and fork.

You can also check out your maximum calorie intake by downloading HPB Calorie Tracker if you’re using an iPhone! Before I started training I didn’t really count my calories, but now I do and I realized there isn’t a huge difference to the food I eat except I need to snack way a lot lesser. The best thing now is, I’ve substituted my snacking time with exercising at Aileron Wellness! My trainer alternates my training sessions between resistance and cardio, to tone the silhouette and to burn fats for overall weight loss respectively.

I must say that I can see a difference physically after a few sessions!


For this Chérie Wellness series, I will be posting up pictures of the food I eat (very frequently on twitter) and also, show you the various types of exercises I’ve been doing especially on my best friend and lover, Power Plate®.

Power Plate® machines helps to increase circulation and oxygenate blood flow, leading to a decrease in toxins in the body which causes a reduction in the appearance of cellulite! Yes, cellulite! I’ll tell you more about this genius in a separate post! Make exercising part of your daily life and not something you do when you are free. I’ve learnt the hard way, maybe it’s time for you (lazy bums) too! Like what my personal trainer, Keith says, “the epitome for health and fitness comes from changing your lifestyle and making it a way of life, not an option.

To really burn calories, you will want to get your heart pumping and break a sweat! It is definitely true that you pay to get tortured in a gym but look at it on the bright side, it is only at the beginning. Your body will undergo the various changes and you won’t feel the cramps after proper conditioning. Interested to find out more? Follow my wellness journey on attaining a beautiful body now!


Food for Thought: Keep in mind that a cup of granola can have up to 600 calories. Start your day with a cup of high fiber cereal which has about 120 calories!


3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] to achieve healthy skin and a beautiful body. That being said, you have to be mindful of your food, you are what you eat. An unhealthy diet coupled with toxins from the harsh environment, stress and restless nights, can […]

  2. […] Recent Comments cherielee on Gastromania Feast at Far East…Shin Kushiya on Gastromania Feast at Far East…loomy on It’s so fluffy I’m…Gillion on Singapore Blog Awards 2011, Ad…Singapore Blog Award… on Body Beautiful At Any Age […]

    Page not found « c h é r i e

    Sunday, July 17, 2011 at 11:53 pm

  3. […] Tan from Aileron Wellness. Keith was the brains behind my body. He whipped me up in shape with a carefully thought fitness regime within a short 5 week […]


Leave a Reply

