c h é r i e

♥ classy and fabulous ♥

Boost Your Brain Power

with 3 comments

Happy Children’s Day!

As major school examinations loom, anxious parents will want to do all they can to help their children achieve better grades. Here are some tips to boost brain power which I got from Mind Your Body :*) Hope it helps!

Sleep Getting enough sleep is absolutely essential. Most people know that I sleep less than 3 hours each day. Please do not follow me! It is definitely not wise to do so. “Sleep helps the brain to rest and recover and consolidate memories. Good quality sleep keeps the brain alert and responsive, while lack of sleep can lead to poor focus and memory loss.” Nevertheless, I think I’m least affected by sleep. My memory is too good to be true and I can focus even better when I sleep less. I’m grouchy when I sleep more than 5 hours :)

Sleep

Light Meals Avoid large meals or heavy meals in fats, particularly just before an exam. “When we eat a heavy meal, blood is diverted to the digestive tract and away from the brain. This makes us sluggish and sleepy.”

Diet Have a diet rich in fruit and vegetables, which will boost the immune system. This is good for key internal organs which directly affect the brain. Tip: Soupy meals with fish or chicken and dates. Other brain foods include black sesame, walnut, wolfberry and American ginseng. Drink plenty of water too!

Relaxed Environment Keep the home environment harmonious and free of argument. Reduce stress for the child so he/she can focus on his/her revision. Parents, please do not constantly nag at your child to study harder. It will just irritate the shit out of them.

 

Written by cherielee

Thursday, October 1, 2009 at 8:24 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. girl look so relaxed sleeping. nice share and a nice blog…

    Yasser

    Sunday, October 4, 2009 at 12:05 am

  2. Hi Yasser

    Thank you for dropping by :) I see that you are a programmer! wow I’m thinking of designing my own website! Maybe can get some pointers from you :)

    cherielee

    Monday, October 5, 2009 at 12:04 am

  3. Flavorsome recipe! :-). I love studying your site. Where did you download this beautiful homepage template from? Greetings from london.

    Ossetra Kaviar kaufen

    Monday, January 18, 2010 at 8:55 pm


Leave a Reply

